Events for Bootstrappers in October 2020. At the the East Coast Bootstrapper Breakfast Online David Dylan Thomas will offer a briefing on “Design for Cognitive Bias.”

Roundup of Events for Bootstrappers in October 2020

Fall is coming, here is a roundup of events for bootstrappers in October 2020All of these events are online and offered at no charge.

Fri-Sep-25 9am PDT / Noon EDT Silicon Valley Bootstrapper Breakfast Online
Hosts: Sean Murphy and CJ Lipe
Register: https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-SV/events/xqhnpqybcmbhc/

Fri-Oct-2 8:30am PDT /  11:30am EDT Silicon Valley Bootstrapper Breakfast Online
Hosts: Sean Murphy and CJ Lipe
Register: https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-SV/events/kjtzkrybcnbdb/

Fri-Oct-9 8:30am PDT / 11:30am EDT San Francisco Bootstrappper Breakfast Online
Hosts: Jordan Geiman and Priyanka Lalwani
Register: https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-San-Francisco/events/vptpkrybcnbmb/

Thu-Oct-15 6:30am PDT / 8:30am CDT / 9:30am EDT Virtual Bootstrappers Breakfast Chicago (Midwest Breakfast)
Host: Travis Johnson
Register: https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-Chicago/events/rznmrrybcnbtb/

Tue-Oct-13 5:30am PDT / 8:30am EDT “Bootstrappers Breakfast with David Dylan Thomas of “Design for Cognitive Bias”
Host: Michael Krupit
Register: https://www.meetup.com/philly-bootstrappers/events/273129056/

Design for Cognitive Bias: Users’ minds take shortcuts to get through the day. Usually, they’re harmless. Even helpful. But what happens when they’re not? Let’s find out together. Grab your coffee and join us for Breakfast with David Dylan Thomas, author of the book Design for Cognitive Bias from A Book Apart.

David will use real-world examples to identify some particularly nasty biases that frequently lead users to make bad decisions.He’ll then talk about some content strategy and design choices we can use in our apps, designs, and platforms to redirect or eliminate the impact of those biases. Finally, we will explore our own biases and some methods to prevent our blind spots from hurting our users and customers.

Tue-Oct-20 8am PDT / 11am EDT Silicon Valley Bootstrapper Breakfast Online
Hosts: Sean Murphy and CJ Lipe
Register: https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-SV/events/mjnbsqybcnbbc/

Tue-Oct-27 11am PDT M&A The Setup You Need to Get Your Startup Acquired
Host Theresa Shafer
Register: https://www.meetup.com/lean-culture/events/273137657/

James Jimenez will offer a briefing on things you can do right now that will increase your options for getting acquired later.

James Jimenez of MNSTCompany.com is an accomplished finance partner with over 9 years of experience in operations and corporate finance. His expertise has been used to close $50M in acquisitions, manage $1B in revenue, and create $30M+ in cashflow. He’s partnered with top private equity firms like The Carlyle Group & Francisco Partners to strategically increase company valuations.

Fri-Oct-30 9am PDT / Noon EDT What’s In Your Box of Legos?
Hosts: Sean Murphy and CJ Lipe
Register: https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-SV/events/xqhnpqybcnbnc/

Lightning Round Question for Attendees: “What’s in your box of Legos? What skills, tools, business relationships have you developed in 2020 that you plan to leverage 2021?”

Please note: our briefing by Alaster Hood, Ph.D., CEO of Verdafero on “Lessons Learned Bootstrapping an Analytics Startup” has been postponed until Fri-Nov-27 9am PDT; you can register for that event at https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-SV/events/xqhnpqybcpbkc/

Help Save Red Rock

Save Red RockThe Red Rock Coffee House (httsp://www.redrockcoffee.org) where we normally meet for the Mountain View Bootstrapper Breakfast has been badly impacted by the Covid-19 epidemic and is in danger of closing. Please consider donating at https://charity.gofundme.com/o/en/campaign/save-red-rock-coffee

Here are two news stories: