Events for Bootstrappers in September 2020: six Bootstrapper Breakfasts and one Lean Culture event are listed. All are online and no charge.

Roundup of Events for Bootstrappers in September 2020

All of these events are online and offered at no charge.

Wed-Aug-26 11am PDT / 2pm EDT Lean Culture: The Two Most Powerful Pricing Decisions for Any Product
Host: Theresa Shafer
Register: https://www.meetup.com/lean-culture/events/272067430/

The two most powerful pricing decisions are: (1)  always use value based pricing and (2) adopt price segmentation. In this webinar, you will learn what, why, and some how on both of these. What these concepts truly mean. Why they are so powerful you should internalize them in your company regardless of company size. And a little bit of how to implement them.

About the speaker  Mark Stiving, PhD, MBA, of Impact Pricing is a widely recognized pricing expert and marketing pro who teaches companies how to boost revenues and realize their true value. With 25+ years experience in price segmentation, pricing product portfolios and visionary pricing, Mark’s analytical skills provide specific direction—and quantifiable results.

Fri-Aug-28 9am PDT / Noon EDT How to Name Your Product Or Your Startup
Hosts: Sean Murphy and CJ Lipe / Featured Attendee Athol Foden
Register: https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-SV/events/xqhnpqybclblc/

You are in startup mode. You have little time and less money. But in due course your company or product name will be your key weapon in the battle for mindshare. What to do? How to solve your problem so you can register the business and protect the trademark?  Join this meeting to learn some shortcuts and tricks to get practical results so you can get on with the business. Bring your naming questions for immediate discussion.

Our featured attendee: Athol Foden, president of Brighter Naming. A firm he bootstrapped into existence eighteen years ago until it became Silicon Valley’s original full-service professional naming agency. Before becoming a branding consultant, he was an international sales and marketing executive at various hardware and software companies.

Fri-Sep-4 8:30am PDT /  11:30am EDT Tips for Bootstrapping A Hardware Startup
Hosts: Sean Murphy and CJ Lipe / Roundup of Events for Bootstrappers in September 2020Featured Attendee Michael Lyon of Alchemy Mfg
Register: https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-SV/events/kjtzkrybcmbgb/

Hardware development is a challenging endeavor for seasoned entrepreneurs, let alone first-time startups. Bootstrapping a hardware startup increases the challenge. Michael Lyon will cover key steps to manage risk using tools to evaluate the supply chain and cut costs. He will offer methods to cut time to market from concept to production.

Fri-Sep-11 8:30am PDT / 11:30am EDT San Francisco Bootstrappper Breakfast Online
Hosts: Jordan Geiman and Priyanka Lalwani
Register: https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-San-Francisco/events/vptpkrybcmbpb/

Tue-Sep-15 5:30am PDT / 8:30am EDT East Coast Virtual Bootstrapper Breakfast
Host: Michael Krupit
Register: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/east-coast-virtual-bootstrappers-breakfast-tickets-118297044645

Tue-Sep-15 8am PDT / 11am EDT  “Basic Cash Flow Financial Models for Bootstrappers”
Hosts: Sean Murphy and CJ Lipe / Featured Attendee James Jimenez
Register at https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-SV/events/mjnbsqybcmbtb/

The only way to thrive as a bootstrapped startup is to start generating cash on day one. James Jimenez will offer a briefing on how to stay cahs flow positive and scale without going broke. He will explain why bootstrappers need a cash based accounting mindset and save accrual based accounting for when they are well established. He will walk attendees through their cash conversion cycle to determine how long it takes for you to turn a dollar of sales into cash. When sales grow faster than your ability to produce cash, you go broke.

About the featured attendee: James Jimenez of MNSTCompany.com is an accomplished finance partner with over 9 years of experience in operations and corporate finance. His expertise has been used to close $50M in acquisitions, manage $1B in revenue, and create $30M+ in cashflow. He’s partnered with top private equity firms like The Carlyle Group & Francisco Partners to strategically increase company valuations

Thu-Sep-17 6:30am PDT / 8:30am CDT / 9:30am EDT Virtual Bootstrappers Breakfast Chicago
Host: Travis Johnson
Register: https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-Chicago/events/rznmrrybcmbwb/

Tue-Sep-22 11am PDT / 2pm EDT Machine Learning (ML) Startup Opportunities
Hosts: Theresa Shafer and Ed Ipser
Register: https://www.meetup.com/lean-culture/events/272894576/

Corporations have access to huge datasets, Danilo Tomanovic will share where he sees opportunities in machine intelligence.

About the Speaker: Danilo Tomanovic’s career includes sales, marketing, product development, global transaction banking, investment banking & risk management. Over the past couple of years he’s leveraged this exposure based upon gold commodity markets, mobile technology, High Net Worth & C-level clients to Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning in the development of a mentoring education platform designed to grow the depth of talent pool dedicated to solving some of the world’s most pressing issues. He’s the President, Founder of Machine Learning Deep Dive focused on creating ML Projects as proof of concepts pointed to market forces/demands.

Fri-Sep-25 9am PDT / Noon EDT Silicon Valley Bootstrapper Breakfast Online
Hosts: Sean Murphy and CJ Lipe
Register: https://www.meetup.com/Bootstrappers-Breakfast-SV/events/xqhnpqybcmbhc/

Help Save Red Rock

Save Red RockThe Red Rock Coffee House (httsp://www.redrockcoffee.org) where we normally meet for the Mountain View Bootstrapper Breakfast has been badly impacted by the Covid-19 epidemic and is in danger of closing. Please consider donating at https://charity.gofundme.com/o/en/campaign/save-red-rock-coffee

Here are two news stories:

Image Credit PCB Board (C) equinoxvect (Licensed from 123RF Image ID : 40371963)